In their 2001 hit song ‘Sometimes’ Ash sang about ‘whole years lost in the blink of an eye’, well that’s kinda how I feel at the moment as I revisit the Running With Scoliosis website.  It hasn’t quite been whole years since my last update but 6 months is a heck of a long time to go without any sort of update.  Honestly, I don’t know where the time went and once again I find myself thinking that I must do better at keeping the site relevant and up to date.

So, what has happened since I blinked and found myself 6 months in the future?

Well… not a huge amount really apart from one pretty life changing experience; I quit my life in *sunny* Scotland and made the move to the actually sunny Budapest in Hungary with my partner Zsuzsi and our daughter.  Zsuzsi, of course, is Hungarian and after 10 years of life in Scotland felt it was time to move home to be closer to her family; a decision I fully supported.

For those of you who have read some of my previous posts you may remember I was made redundant from my job in June last year and had been working part-time in the interim period.  Zsuzsi had also struggled to find full time employment in Scotland despite graduating from University with a 1st Class joint Honours Degree in Sports and Psychology – I’m proud of her for that, hence the boast – and therefore the decision to move to Hungary was not a difficult one.

It was also made easier when Zsuzsi was offered a job in Budapest almost immediately after starting to look for work there seriously.  And so in mid February my girls made the move to Hungary leaving me at home to sort out some final details before joining up with them in March and making a go of our new and latest adventure.

We have settled nicely in to a small apartment in the 13th District of Budapest and are located next to a Metro Line, market, and a nursery for Hazel, all of which has really helped make our transition that much easier.

I have found some work teaching English which will keep me going in the meantime.  However, for the first time in our relationship I am not the main breadwinner and have more free time on my hands than ever before.  This is both a blessing and a curse at the same time as I have the time to explore my new home town but have to do most of it by myself.

Fortunately I have found that running – something I prefer to do myself – is a great way to discover a new place and I’ve been lucky enough to run a few amazing routes so far taking in sights such as the Varosliget, Heroe’s Square, and Margaret Island.

I intend to run more and discover more of this beautiful city and also to write more (here, in another blog I run, and on another couple of projects I have in mind).  I’m feeling very positive about this move and while I know there will be tough times, depression and loneliness at times, I also know that I have a fantastic opportunity to pursue some dreams here and I intend to do just that.

